I…Robot

I remember the day that I found out that I was a robot, it was both a shock and a relief. If I am a robot, then that means I am subject to my programming and therefore not really all that responsible. I was off the hook so too speak. I said, did, and felt things because I was simply programmed to. All my life I had never questioned my programming, I simply obeyed. As long as I followed the programming I was happy, if I resisted I experienced pain. Resistance is futile. I was always aware of this entire universe of subconscious activity within me, like voices I barely hear but never understand, so I just learned to live with them. The day I accepted that I was a robot was the day that I was set free. Then I learned that I could choose my own programming. When I wasn’t aware of the truth of my existence I passively allowed other people to program me, I simply accepted their commands and obeyed without question. I found out that the way programs in me worked was simply: stimulus (command) – processing -output. I also discovered that by interrupting the processing phase I could change the output, and in some cases even the way I felt about stimuli themselves. I understood that to change my programming I simply had to find away to rectify the imbalance that was causing the emotion that resulted in bad behaviour. I became truly empowered when I learned to reprogram myself.

Ok, it reads like a sci fi tale but did you know that upwards of 95% of your day is spent running and obeying internal programs? In other words, you spend most of your time living from your unconscious mind. Just about all of your day you are a robot, with the exception of the rare times you get consciously involved. It’s crazy to think that all of how you feel and think is nothing more than programming and if you attempt to modify your behaviour you always end up following the programming. So behaviour modification is simply not possible in the long run. True freedom lies in accepting that you are a robot and then learning how to manage your programming. Most people swim in and out of consciousness; think about things you wanted to change about yourself a few years ago and consider that not only did you not change them, but you don’t even think about them now. The programming always wins.

The purpose of today’s blog is not to tell you how to change your programming but to invite you to accept your status as that of a robot. Think of your unconscious mind (that runs your life) as nothing more than a highly sophisticated tape recorder – record and play – that is all it does. So talking to the tape recorder won’t help and talking about what is on the tape recorder won’t help either. The only way to deal with what is on the tape recorder is in the same way that it got on the tape recorder in the first place. Record and play. This is why most therapy only enjoys limited success. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to find a way to learn how to change your programming.

PS….coaching is one way.

http://www.imagineif.co.za

About Imagine Life Coaching

I am a transformation junkie (a master coach) who believes in the unlimited potential of the individual. Imagine living the life of your dreams.

Posted on November 6, 2012, in Life Coaching, Peace, Personal Power, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

